Cooking on Sundays: Salad in a Jar

After a long week of being on the road, I didn’t have a lot of time to do groceries so I ended up with the easiest recipe I know: salad in a jar. Went to my local fruits and produce store and stocked up on vegetables (something I ate very little of, other than being smothered in butter or jus). I went with a list in my head and then changed up some things when I saw what was available.

IMG_20160515_173333995

Ingredients today include:

  • Organic spring mix
  • Organic cherry tomatoes
  • Zucchini
  • Green and yellow peppers
  • Carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Bag of kale salad
  • Grapefruit (to eat on its own and to put in the salad)

I layered celery, carrots, green pepper, onion and spring mix in the jars. Then I roasted the yellow peppers, zucchini and cherry tomatoes with the balsamic reduction from a couple of weeks ago. To add some protein, I made two servings of egg salad (two eggs, celery, yogurt, mayonnaise and pepper). Along with this, I made a quick dinner of freezer dumplings (the last of them) and bok choy. I can’t wait to get back into the rhythm and cook some more later this week. Happy cooking 🙂

IMG_20160515_202119

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

