Cooking on Sundays: Pantry Clearout

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Cooking on Sundays post but I have kept up with my meal preps on weekends to make sure that I bring my lunch to work instead of buying it (saving money and eating healthier). Since I will be going on a work trip next week, this would be the best time to use up some foods I already have. It includes some already made meals (that I didn’t want to eat anymore at the time of making) as well as frozen veggies and chickpeas.

On the menu this week: roasted chicken thighs, roasted asparagus and grape tomatoes, chickpea salad, and steel cut oats with frozen blueberries/raisins/cinnamon. Simple recipes allowed me time to clean the apartment and run a couple of errands.

Roasted-chicken

Roasted Chicken Thighs (recipe adapted from this The Kitchn recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken thighs, skin on and bone in
  • Salt and pepper

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar reduction (already includes sugar, no need for additional)
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp red chilli flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced or grated (wish I had more but we ran out :()

Preheat the oven at 375°F.

Salt and pepper both sides of the chicken, set aside. Mix all the sauce ingredients and spread it over the chicken on both sides.

Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes, until juices run clear.

 

Roasted veggies

Roasted Asparagus and Grape Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint of grape tomatoes, halved (I left some whole ones – variety is the spice of life)
  • 1 bunch asparagus, trimmed
  • Leftover sauce from roasted chicken thighs recipe above
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven at 375°F. Line pan with parchment paper

Mix grape tomatoes with leftover sauce and mix asparagus with olive oil and salt and pepper.  Place all in a single layer on the pan.

Bake for 25 minutes and voila, delicious veggies are done!

Chickpea salad

Chickpea Salad

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 cup Edamame beans
  • 2 carrots, grated
  • 2 stalks celery, diced,
  • 2 stalks green onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 white onion, diced
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Rinse and drain chickpeas in a colander, put aside. On the stove, prepare the froze Edamame beans according to package (I buy the PC brand ones).

Cut up all vegetables and mix in with chickpeas and Edamame beans.

For the dressing, I go by taste. I add some of the apple cider vinegar (1 part), olive oil (2-3 parts) and salt and pepper. I mix and if something is missing, I add more of it.

Steel Cut Oats

Overnight Steel Cut Oats (recipe is from Marin Mama Cooks)

I make this recipe the night before and I have breakfast for 4 days.

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • A dash of cinnamon

Boil water and then add the steel cut oats. Stir for one minute and remove from heat. Let sit overnight.

In the morning, separate portions into containers and place in refrigerator until ready to eat.

I reheat it on the stove until it’s bubbling. Add the frozen blueberries, raisins and cinnamon, then enjoy!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Cooking on Sundays: Pantry Clearout

  1. lexilife says:

    I’ve always wanted to try overnight oats! That looks great xx

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

