Discovering Montreal

IMG_20160329_101612856

This is part II of my short vacation. You can read about my Ottawa stay here.

A short train ride from Ottawa took me to Montreal, where I met up with my friends and hung out with them for a few days. They had moved to the St. Henri neighbourhood, which is a little further away from downtown Montreal. They have a family now so it’s a quieter neighbourhood and they have room to grow. I mainly stayed in the St. Henri neighbourhood and walked around, getting the lay of the land.

The weather improved a lot since Ottawa so on my first day, we took a long stroll along the canal to Chinatown. Gentrification has taken over the area with many new buildings under construction and new restaurants taking on old store fronts – this can be seen mainly along the canal. However, the neighbourhood has retained it’s charm – it can be seen at the local Atwater Market, the churches and the residents. The walk was really nice to finally feel the sun on my face, brightening up my day 🙂 I wasn’t aware that there was a path along the canal that took you all the way downtown to Old Montreal/Downtown.

IMG_20160327_171839

When we arrived, eating was first priority. Originally we wanted to eat Vietnamese but they didn’t have any high chairs so we went for dim sum at Le cristal chinoise. The service was slow (we were seated for 1.5 hours, with a 10 month old) and we had to remind them that there were still items missing. No cart service, you ordered from a list. However, the food was delicious when it arrived. Try going on a weekday instead of the weekend, it should be less busy. I didn’t realize how much I missed Chinese food until my stay in Montreal because my friend’s mom was also  in town and staying with them, so she cooked a few of the dinners while I was there and dim sum – it’s so good and tasty; think of it as Chinese tapas where the portions are bite sized and you can try a lot of different things. After eating, my friend and her mom did groceries and I wandered around with the baby and the baby’s dad. Many new sights and sounds but also very familiar – elderly people playing music in public had assembled to perform tai chi, the delicious smells of baked goods, various dialects of Chinese being spoken that I don’t understand, and people just standing in the middle of the sidewalk so you have to walk around them. It had been a long day and we headed home on the Métro instead of walking.

The night, we took advantage of them having them having mom around to be babysitter for a night so we went out for drinks at Ludger and then some snacks at Satay Brothers. Once again, the theme of Asian food continued and Satay Brothers had Singaporean/Malaysian street food to offer. We got some pork buns and some veggie fritters that were delicious. The best part was, one of the servers (maybe owners??), Phil started chatting with us and we got onto the topic of Hong Kong street food (he’s mixed, half Chinese and half French Canadian). It was so nice to talk to someone in Cantonese about some of my favourite foods – I had to translate for my friend and got her interested in possibly taking a trip to Hong Kong. I will definitely be paying them a visit on my next trip to Montreal in June.

IMG_20160329_155639

Throughout the rest of my trip, my friend had a back spasm and was immobile for a bit so I helped around the house and with the baby. It was really nice to spend time with her since I hadn’t been in Montreal for a couple of years and only get to see her when she’s home in Toronto. I did take some time for myself and walked around. I went back to the Atwater Market and got a Croque-monsieur to enjoy. Didn’t have as many pastries as I would have liked but there is my next trip. Also, a trip to anywhere really isn’t complete without getting tacos, so we went to Café Frida. It was a small place with seating for maybe 15 people max. The interior was bright and colourful. The food was delicious! I got the conchinita and carnita – one of each. I really do love food a lot!! Other than eating, I also spent a lot of time reading and napping, which are both things I haven’t done in a while. Since the weather was really nice, we also got to BBQ – made sausages from the Market and grilled eggplant.

For the train ride home, I got two sandwiches from Sandwicherie St Henri: a pork and a chicken salad since the ride was almost six hours. They really hit the spot. The train ride was pretty uneventful but I got a window seat and had a little table in front, rather than getting a fold down table like on the plane.

I cannot wait to go back to Montreal in June (will be there for work and I’ll be staying the weekend with my friends again).

List of places that I visited:

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

