5 Packing Tips for Business Travel

I have spent this weekend fretting over what to pack for my upcoming business trip to Berlin/Potsdam, Germany. This will be my first time travelling for work and it’s been a challenge trying to figure out what to pack because I usually backpack everywhere and it doesn’t matter how I look. However, I got the itinerary for my trip and it’s consisting of: lots of walking/hiking, conferences, walking property tours, an opera show and fancy dinners. How do I not pack my entire closet for this? Well, after talking to some colleagues and doing some research, I’ve come up with the following five tips on how to best pack for a business trip:

  1. Plan your outfits! If you have the itinerary ahead of time, you know what you’ll be doing so you can plan ahead. Depending on the length of your trip, you can usually wear the same bottoms a couple of times. A blazer can dress up a pair of jeans for casual dinners while it can be worn with dress pants for the more formal occasions. Take notes/photos of your outfits.
  2. Check the weather. Look at the forecast for the days you’re there and it can help you decide if you really need that parka or a light rain jacket will do. Potsdam is going to be 15-20C so I’ve decided not to pack my fleece layer because it’s going to be too warm and just taking up space.
  3. Bring the essentials. If you have a specific shampoo/conditioner that you absolutely swear by, then pack it. If that’s not the case, the hotel you’re staying at will probably provide the basic toiletries. This goes the same for clothing – if you can live without it for a week, you don’t need to bring it with you.
  4. Electronics. Nowadays, we travel with a phone, laptop, tablet, camera, etc. and have all the accompanying cords for it. I ask, why not just bring what you need? Depending on what you’re doing on your business trip, a laptop might be necessary but that means you don’t need to bring a tablet. If your phone has a camera, then leave the camera at home. Also, don’t forget to bring the appropriate adapters/converters for your gadgets.  If you’re going to Europe, I found this article to be very helpful on what adapters/converters to bring.
  5. Footwear. This can be a tricky one because as a women, we have a lot of choices. This goes hand in hand with which outfits to wear as well as what is the most comfortable. For my trip, I’m bringing a pair of running shoes, flats, heels, and flip flops. This covers all my needs for each activity/dinner.

At the end of the day, remember you are going for business so you’re not gone for too long. Plus, with all the extra room in your suitcase, you can fill it up with souvenirs 🙂 Happy packing!

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

