Euro Trip Reflection

Happy Easter everyone! I’m very glad it’s a long weekend because I’m finally sitting down to catch up on my blog and have some relaxation time.

I’ve been wanting to create a map of all the places I went to in Europe and finally did that today. Now that I see it all in one picture – it’s a bit overwhelming to think that we visited over 30 cities in 13 countries in only nine weeks!

Euro trip places

List of Europe destinations from my trip

I remember this time last year, I had just resigned from my job and was still planning for our Euro trip. How quickly a year goes by. Looking back on things, I’m really glad I took that leap of faith and made my dreams for travelling a reality. It was a very hard and scary decision to make since I would be going into the unknown. Questions like these popped into my head constantly:

  • What if I ran out of money while on the road?
  • What if something happened to me and I got sick and couldn’t come go home?
  •  What if something happened at home and I had to cut my trip short?
  • What if I got in a fight with L? How would I handle travelling with her for the rest of the trip?

The “what if” questions kept of going and at some point, I realized I was asking myself the wrong questions because we had planned for the unexpected as much as we could. Money was budgeted and there was an emergency fund. We had gotten travel insurance for any medical emergencies and travel interruptions. We knew where we were staying and had gotten directions and maps ahead of time.

The planning took away a lot of the scary unknowns and I began to get more excited because I could start asking questions like:

  • What are we going to see in each city?
  • Who I’m going to meet in hostels?
  • What are my friends’ addresses? I want to send them a postcard!

I am very grateful to have had a travel buddy. It made doing everything and going to different places a lot more fun – whether we had gotten lost or we found some delicious local food. There was always someone to share the experience with.

From the places we visited to the people I had met, it was a very memorable trip and I can’t wait to go back to Europe in just over a week (even if it’s just for work).

What has been your most memorable trip? Let me know in the comments section.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

