Live Below the Line: Days 4 and 5

As Days 4 and 5 came and went, I think my body was starting to get used to the less calorie intake. I wasn’t back to my normal energy levels but I did feel less tired than I had in the previous days.

On Day 4,  my sister and I needed to go out of town so I had cooked the night before so that we could pack our lunch and not be hungry for a good chunk of the day. We made breakfast in the morning consisting of steel cut oats, banana, cinnamon and brown sugar. Throughout the day, I wasn’t feeling as hungry as the first couple of days – probably because I was doing something during the daytime and not having time to think about food. We ate stir-fry veggies with rice for lunch in a mall food court (only place we could find to sit) and it was so tempting to buy more food. The impact that food has on one’s mental capacity is quite incredible. We resisted and finished up the out of town business and headed home. After a long day, I was glad we didn’t have to cook (pea soup leftover from Day 3). 

On the final day of the challenge, we had to go get another cup of rice because there we didn’t have any carb/starch for dinner. We had the rest of the oats for breakfast and had to make omelettes for lunch. I didn’t feel as hungry or lose focus as much on Day 5, which I found frightening because I’m not sure if my body had already adjusted to the food level and I was functioning at a lower energy level than prior to the challenge. 

From participating in this challenge, I have definitely become more aware of how big a problem it is that we don’t talk about poverty and those living below the poverty enough. By this I mean, I am only living on $1.75 per day on food and drink but there people living on that amount for everything each day.

Along with this, I also learned that you can live on a limited budget by being more creative in the places you buy food as well meal planning. I can’t stress this enough! My sister and I sat and went through all the recipes in the resource manual to figure out which ones we wanted to make and how much of each ingredient we needed.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my journey through this challenge and will join me in donating to this cause by CLICKING HERE.

Thank you for your time.

Gloria

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

