Summer is Here!!!

Wow, what a way to start the summer! My first order of business was to have a pants free week – only skirts and dresses because it’s too hot to have clothing cling to my legs 🙂 Next, a visit to the beach was a must. On Friday night after work, 8-10 of us went and set-up a volleyball net and just played doubles. It was so great to be in the sand again.  Then I went to my first summer birthday party – pre-drink was at a hotel in the heart of the city and then off to a local pub. It was a fantastic Saturday – good company, drinks were flowing and lots of great laughs!

That is until you have to run a race the next morning, then you don’t feel so well.

color me radI had signed up for a 5km race way before I knew this birthday party was happening but it’s was also a really close friend’s birthday, so I knew I had to do both. The good thing was, it was a fun race and I wasn’t being timed. The race is called Color Me Rad. How it works is that, you “Start out as clean as a newborn babe, and throughout the run, you’ll coat your chaffing thighs with Color Bombs of bluegreen,pinkpurple, and yellow until your face, shirt, and body come out silkscreened like a tie-dyed hippy on the other side. Each section of the run adds a new explosion of color to your clean, painter’s palate until you cross the finish line into a final blitzkrieg of color. ”

It was a lot of fun! Many people were dressed in costumes and there were a lot of families that were running with little kids.  I see it as a fun way to promote fitness without the pressures of having to compete with others. It was just a run that you can do at your own speed and you got colour-bombed along the way 🙂  BlogTO.com wrote an article about it and had posted some great pictures. Check it out here.

I will definitely sign up again next year – if they’re running it. However, there were a couple of things that I’d do differently:

  • Sign up with friends (I ran by myself because my friends couldn’t get a spot – both Saturday and Sunday sold out really quickly)
  • Have a costume because it’s way more fun than just wearing a white t-shirt and shorts
  • Don’t bring any bags – they didn’t have bag check so I had to run with my backpack on
  • Wear sunscreen – slightly burnt my face

Overall, it was a great experience and have convinced others to join for next year.

color me rad 2 color me rad 3

My next race is the Bum Run. The run will be helping increase awareness and promote early screening for colorectal cancer. The bf was really keen on it, really just because he liked the name of the run. We registered yesterday and came up with the team name: Burrito Jetpack Initiative. Our team is now up to 5 members and we’d love for more people to join. It’s a great cause and only a 5km run, so super achievable! We have to have a team meeting soon to figure out a fundraising goal and start promoting. Our team page is really generic right now but hoping to get it more personalized within the week.

I can’t wait for more festivities next weekend – plus it’s a long weekend so time for extra fun!!

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Summer is Here!!!

Leave a Reply

